2016 Barcelona Film Festival Winners

Congratulations to the 2016 Barcelona Interenational Film Festival Winners and Official Finalists.

El Rey Awards

Grand Jury Prize Narrative Film: The Closer directed by Eli Hershko

Grand Jury Prize Documentary: Vanishing Sail directed by Alexis Andrews
Special Jury Prize Narrative Film: Ultraviolent directed by Michael Easton

Special Jury Prize Documentary:  Grado Mission directed by Carlo Christian Spano

Special Jury Prize Screenplay: When the Sun Came for Them directed by Terrence Ross
El Rey Award for El Espíritu de España: Urbi et Orbi Cuba directed by Andros Barroso

El Rey Award for Excellence in Cinematography: Let's Dance To The Rhythm directed by Bardroy Barretto

El Rey Award for Excellence in Film Direction: Without You directed by Alexandre Powelz
El Rey Award for Excellence in Film Editing: Forbidden Ground directed by Johan Earl, Adrian Powers
El Rey Award for Excellence in Documentary Narrative Filmmaking: The Challenge directed by Peter Williams MBE

El Rey Award for Excellence in Documentary Short Filmmaking: Dead Sites directed by Jason Outenreath

El Rey Award for Excellence in Dramatic Narrative: Ornament and Crime directed by Rodrigo Areias

El Rey Award for Excellence in Experimental Filmmaking: Bodies in Trouble directed by Iona Pelovska
El Rey Award for Excellence in Short Filmmaking: Still Closed directed by Mark Datuin

El Rey Award for Excellence in Music Video Production: Love Demon directed by Lola Maraver

El Rey Award for Excellence in Student Filmmaking: Made of Sugar directed by Kevin Rios 

El Rey Award for Excellence in Animation: Three Fools directed by Snobar Avani & Peter Hausner

El Rey Award for Excellence in Acting in a Lead Role: Hoyt Richards in “Intersection” directed by Tim French

El Rey Award for Excellence in Narrative Short Filmmaking: Pony directed by Candice Carella

The Gold Lion Awards

Portrait of a wind-up maker directed by Dario Perez Moreno
Art Connect directed by Miquel Galofre
Loving Carmen directed by Nayo Titzin
Home at Dawn directed by Billy Silva, Guille Isa
Ghost Against Ghost - Checkpoint Charlie directed by Craig Murray
Dependent's Day directed by Michael David Lynch
417 Miles directed by Mainak Dhar
Honeytrap directed by Rebecca Johnson
Wish to Wash with Rain directed by Gülten Taranç
The Runner directed by Justin Berardi

The Castell Awards

Birdwatcher directed by Simon Revilla
Eclipse directed by Artem Makarevich
The Crest directed by Paula Kelly
The Sleep of the Amazons directed by Berangere McNeese
A Private Matter directed by A Private Matter
Making it with Moraes - Wedding Cake directed by Paul S. Berry, MD
The Eve directed by Luca Machnich
New Generation Queens: a Zanzibar soccer story directed by Megan Shutzer
Chasing Valentine directed by Navin Ramaswaran
The Guest directed by William Silva Reddington

Official Finalists

Mom directed by Robert Kondo, Daisuke 'Dice' Tsutsumi
Idil Biret: The Portrait of a Child Prodigy directed by Eytan Ipeker
Under Construction directed Tim Cone
Indefinite directed by Kane George Jason
Mile End directed by Graham Higgins
Hide The Sausage directed by Joe Benedetto
Displacement directed by Nedal Shaer
Naked directed by Yoram sachs
Printed Memories directed by Javier Ramirez
To Police directed by Corey Deshon

Screenplay Competition

Grand Jury Prize: Destiny of Tar and Feathers written by Harold L. Brown
Special Jury Prize: Gigantic written by Alan Reitsch

1st Place: Gracias a La Vida (Thanks to Life) written by Alexander Lynch

2nd Place: Paradise Pond written by Paradise Pond

3rd Place: Peace, Love, and Law Enforcement written by Lorraine Portman

4th Place: The MacKenzie Breakout written by Scott Simpson

5th Place: Lucidae written by Jacqueline Marett

Official Finalists

Animal written by Carl Haeger
Feminunity written by Jay Mullings
Ponies written by Phil Stokes
Infamies written by Gregor Kreyca
Deadly Colors written by Margaret Ford Rogers, Dane Krogman
Trieste, 1912 written by Ben Hanah
Reverse Profile written by Ken Campbell
Like a Cloud written by Esmaeil Mihandoust
Time Skip written by Owen Thomas
Symposium written by Tom Grady
Fadeaway written by Fadeaway
Rascals written by Tomasz Cichoń

Honorable Mentions

Pillars of The Sea written by Tom Warson
Luther's Gang written by Massimiliano Mauceri
Little Pot Elf written by Junna Wang
The Debt written by Michelle Patkowski
Legacy written by Dr Angus Watts
Under God's Sky written by Brian Bowler
An Evilution of Dragons written by John T. Frederick
Cactus #5 written by Robert Shill
Wild Mind 1 written by Fujio Torikai
The Librarians and the Ring of Brodgar written by Scott Simpson




Join Our Mailing List



Copyright Barcelona Film Awards. All rights reserved.

Follow Us

facebook twitter